Portfolio Boss Documentation

Strategy Panel

 

 

This panel is located at the top-left corner of the Backtest Strategy page. It's the “identification” panel of the strategy, where you can give it a name and description. Such identifications will be visible on the Strategy Management list.

 

 

This panel also defines whether the strategy will send email notifications (trading signals) to you. As well, it allows you to override (or reinstate) the strategy's read-only mode.

Note, the panel's heading (name) conforms to the strategy type (multi, basic, or meta strategy):

 

 


 

1.  To rename the strategy, type it on the “Name” field:

 

 

If you leave the field empty, the strategy will revert to its current name (the next time you open its Backtest Strategy page), though you can still backtest the strategy even if the field is empty.

 

 


 

2.  Write the strategy's description, like its mechanism or purpose, on the “Description” field.

 

 


 

3.  To receive daily emails from the strategy (containing trade signals & current positions), set the Notifications property to “Daily email”.

 

 

Keep in mind, if a strategy is set to “Daily email”, its rules are grayed out, and you can't edit them. This is the read-only mode, so users don't accidentally edit an active strategy (to prevent the running Positions and history to change).

Any strategies set to “Daily email” will give you such email notifications. Just let Portfolio Boss run a few hours after the markets close (e.g. until 6 or 7 PM Eastern Time). Once the End of Day data are downloaded, those strategies are automatically backtested to send you the daily performance reports and trading signals (if there's any).

If you wish to edit the strategy, click the “Override read-only mode…” (as shown above), and a confirmation dialog appears:

 

 

Simply click “I Understand”, and the rules will be customizable again. Once done with the editing, you can click the button “Restore read-only mode” to reinstate the mode:

 

 

Though this is done automatically (no need to press that button) once you navigate away to the other strategy.

 


 

Notes:

 

  • If you're still running (trading) the strategy, instead of overriding the read-only mode it's better to just copy the strategy and only edit the duplicate:

To do that, click the “Copy” button at the top of the Backtest Strategy page, and a dialog appears: Give the copy a name, and tick the checkbox “After copying…” (if you want to immediately open the duplicate), then click the “Copy” button.

 

  • Any strategy that's part of a multi-strategy has the read-only mode set by default. This is to prevent unintended position changes of the parent strategy:

 

 

 

 

 

Back to Top

>