Portfolio Boss Documentation

Miscellaneous Tab

 

 

This Tab allows you to set various miscellaneous settings of Portfolio Boss, such as: the amount of memory (RAM) it uses, whether to show or hide various dialogs & notifications within the app, and to reset the app's interface to its default state.

It's divided into five sections:

  • Caching
  • Interactivity
  • Notifications
  • Tutorials
  • Layout

Each will be discussed next:

 


 

1.  Caching: defines the maximum memory (RAM) of your computer that Portfolio Boss is allowed to use, especially during heavy backtesting and caching-intensive operations. Simply set the slider to a value that you want.

 

 

You may lower this value if you experience general slowdown (or crashes) while using Portfolio Boss; or when you're using a 32-bit system (where the total RAM is capped at 4 GB). But normally you don't have to touch this slider at all.

A default value of 100% means Portfolio Boss uses 100% of the free memory available, not the total memory. 

 


 

2.  Interactivity: This section allows you to define interactive behaviors within Portfolio Boss, such as showing/hiding backtest confirmation dialogs, and whether to open a strategy after it's copied or restored:

 

 

  • “Show confirmation dialog when starting a Divine Engine test”: Toggling this off will hide the confirmation dialog each time you start a local Divine Engine backtest(Random search algorithm). It's the same as ticking the checkbox “Don't show again” on that dialog:

 

  • “Show confirmation dialog when starting a Manual test”: Toggling this off will hide the confirmation dialog each time you start a manual (standard) backtest  . It's the same as ticking the checkbox “Don't show again” on that dialog:

 

  • “Automatically open the strategy after copying”: If this is toggled off, a strategy you copied (with the “Copy” button  on top of its Backtest Strategy Page) won't be automatically opened. It's the same as unticking the checkbox “After copying, open the copied strategy” from that “Copy strategy” dialog:

 

  • “Automatically open the strategy after restoring”: If this is toggled off, a strategy that you restored (with the “Restore” button  on top of the Strategy Management Page) won't be automatically opened. It's the same as unticking the checkbox on that restore-strategy dialog.

 


 

3.  Notifications: These settings will show/hide messages about using Dynamic Portfolios and successfully copying a strategy.

 

 

  • “Show warning when using unused dynamic portfolios in a strategy”: if this is toggled ON, there is a message dialog each time you use a Dynamic Portfolio that's never been used in any of your strategies. Therefore, PB will download the price data for it. If this is toggled OFF, there won't be such warning, and it's the same as unticking the checkbox “Don't show this dialog again”:

 

  • “Show success message when copying a strategy”: if this is toggled OFF, there won't be a success message each time you copied a strategy (with the button, either from the Backtest Strategy Page or the Strategy Management Page). It's the same as unticking the checkbox “Don't show this dialog again” on that dialog:

 

Note:

If you copied a strategy from the Backtest Strategy Page and you opt to automatically open that duplicate, this copy-success message won't be displayed even if it's toggled ON in here.

 


 

4.  Tutorials: This section allows you to show/hide the tutorial buttons throughout the Portfolio Boss app (these buttons direct you to their respective user guide documents). There's only one toggle here, and it works as described:

 

 

You can do the same function with the F2 keyboard button anywhere within the Portfolio Boss app.

 

 


 

5.  Layout: This section allows you to reset the overall appearance of Portfolio Boss to its default state, including panels size, color scheme and theme, scale, etc. There's only one button here to do the task:

 

 

The same thing can be achieved by deleting the file “PortfolioBoss.user.db” located in the database folder (%LocalAppData%\PortfolioBoss\Data).

 

 

Make sure you closed Portfolio Boss before deleting that file. Once deleted, open Portfolio Boss and it will recreate the file. All the interface reverts to its default appearance.

 

 

 

Back to Top

>